Healthy Oatmeal-Raisin and Molasses Muffins

oatmeal raisin muffinsBreakfast options at our house were a bit ‘blah’ this morning. Clearly, something was begging to be baked. But just “what” was the question.

Since I have been wanting to add a good oatmeal muffin recipe to my go-to list, I decided that was a good idea for this morning. However, the last recipe I tried for these, I only halfway liked. I also knew I wanted something with lots of good-for-you ingredients in it. So, I tweaked this, added that… and these little guys were created. And I think they will do!

So, not only do these muffins taste good, they are also a pretty healthy option for breakfast or to go along with dinner. Other than a sprinkling of cinnamon-sugar on top, the only sweetener used is molasses, giving you a subtle sweetness that is backed up with the deeper flavor of the molasses. (which is also full of vitamins!) Plain yogurt is used instead of oil, which kept them really moist, and white- wheat flour and oatmeal give you a good dose of whole grains. Raisins were the perfect compliment to the flavors, and I think the perfect finishing touch. Try ‘em! (I think I might just go eat another..right now…even though I’ve already had two!)

PRINTABLE RECIPE

  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cup white -wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 Tbs. sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

In a small bowl, combine the oats and buttermilk. Stir to combine and then set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the 2 eggs, molasses, and yogurt. Mix well.

Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt. Mix until well-combined. Add raisins.

Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups 3/4ths full.

Combine the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Sprinkle the muffins with the cinnamon sugar. (you might not use it all)

Bake at 400 for 16-18 minutes- until they test done with a small knife inserted in the center of one.

oatmeal raisin muffins 2

PRINTABLE RECIPE

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Healthy Oatmeal-Raisin and Molasses Muffins

  1. […] you haven’t already noticed, I make muffins often for breakfast around here. Pumpkin, Bran, Oatmeal, Blueberry- there’s so many options! In fact, I’ve also already shared another banana […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

