Chewy Peanut Butter Granola Bars

P1010731I have been on the search for a good, homemade granola bar for a while now. I had a fairly good idea what I was wanting to start with: a simple, basic bar without a lot of frills and something healthy  I also did not want a crunchy bar. Chewy is better, in my opinion. I found a few good-looking looking options, but nothing seemed to really hit the nail on the head for me. Finally, I found a recipe that was pretty basic. I tried it and liked it a lot! Since then, I have added or subtracted this or that and have come up with a granola bar recipe that I really love. I almost always have a pan of these in my refrigerator. I love to eat them for breakfast with a glass of milk, or for a quick snack. I find them to be very filling. My hubby likes them, too- and they are easy for him to take along with him in the mornings to eat on the way to work. My kids think everything has to involve chocolate in some way- so we compromise and I skim a little Nutella on theirs.

These little gems are also super quick to mix up and very adaptable to your own tastes. Hope you enjoy them, too!

NOTE: all of these measurements are approximate. You can add a little more or less of all of these ingredients, based on your personal preference! I change it around sometimes, too. The version below is my favorite.

3 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats

1/2 c. slices almonds

1/2 c. pecan halves or pieces

1/2 c. shredded, sweetened coconut.

1/4 c. milled flax seed (very optional- but boosts the nutrition a lot)

1/2- 3/4 c. honey

3/4- 1 c. peanut butter

1. Combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and flax seed in a large bowl.

2. Mix it up

3. With mixer running on low speed, slowly pour in honey. You have enough honey when the oat mixture is sticking together and looks sticky.

4. Melt the peanut butter. (I just put mine in a bowl and microwave for about 30 seconds.)

5. Pour in the peanut butter and mix just until well combined

6. Grab a 9x 13 dish and dump all of the mixture into it.

7. Press the granola mixture into the dish

(if the granola looks crumbly or dry, you don’t have enough honey or peanut butter. It should easily press into the dish and should not fall apart)

8.  Cover and Refrigerate. (You do not HAVE to refrigerate, but this is how I prefer to keep them)

After they have chilled for just a little while, you could cut them into bars or you could just keep them in the refrigerator and cut them as you need them. That’s what I do!

One thought on “Chewy Peanut Butter Granola Bars

  1. […] You may also like Chewy Peanut Butter Granola Bars […]

Leave a Reply

