Light & Tender Buttermilk Biscuits

P1010891

Biscuits! They’re great for sopping up sausage gravy, they’re good alongside eggs and bacon, and they are excellent with butter and honey! Biscuits should be light, fluffy, and hot!

I have 2 biscuit recipes that I alternate using. But, this recipe is what I use most. Something that makes these unique, is that instead of using shortening or butter, like most biscuit recipes, this one uses canola oil- eliminating the usual “cutting in” process of the shortening, which also makes them a little quicker to prepare.

Most importantly- they’re just really good. So, let’s make some Light and Tender Buttermilk Biscuits!

2 cups all purpose four

4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt.

1 cup buttermilk

1/3 cup canola oil

P1010872

Mix dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.

P1010876

In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk and oil. Add this to the dry mixture- and blend just until everything is moistened.

P1010877

Knead slightly on a floured surface by folding in half and pressing it down a little bit.

Pat out to desired thickness. (I never pat mine too thin. I like a nice thick biscuit!) Don’t overwork the dough….the more you work it, the less tender your finished product will be

Cut with biscuit cutter. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

P1010884Melt 1 T. butter. Brush onto each biscuit (This is totally optional…Sometimes I do this and sometimes I don’t. They will turn out great either way.)

P1010888

Bake at 450 for about 8-9 minutes. Don’t over-bake! Watch them. When they get a little golden on the top and the bottoms are light brown- take them out. Serve Hot! Biscuits are always best when they are piping hot! Slather with butter and honey or jelly!

13 thoughts on “Light & Tender Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. Carol L. February 9, 2013 at 1:07 am Reply

    The canola oil makes them a bit healthier!

  2. Natalie Lynn Bell March 29, 2013 at 4:32 pm Reply

    These were delicious! Thanks for the recipe :)!

  3. Dan Willard August 6, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

    I had buttemilk in the fridge, but no shortening in the pantry, so I was looking last night for a recipe for biscuits, using oil instead. I was making a low-fat alfredo for linguini (with chicken) for dinner, so wanted something italian. I doubled your recipe, but added two teaspoons of garlic powder, two teaspoons of italian seasoning, and more than a cup of cheddar cheese before stirring in the liquids, adding about an extra tablespoon of oil, for the bulk of the cheese. I kneaded the dough and cut the biscuits, brushed the tops with buttermilk, and VOILA! My family raved about the biscuits–my wife (yep, I LOVE to cook, too!) said she liked them better than regular biscuits! Thanks for your website! So glad that you’re a sister in Christ, too! Dan Willard, Acworth, GA

  4. Dan Willard August 6, 2013 at 11:00 am Reply

    BTW-this will probably be my go-to recipe for biscuits in the future! I can’t wait to fix them, as directed, for breakfast or brunch sometime! I made two-inch biscuits last night, but I bet these would be great for B-E-C biscuits, if I made them with my three-inch cutter! Dan

    • makeithomemade August 19, 2013 at 10:51 pm Reply

      Thanks for your comments, Dan! Sounds like you are very good in the kitchen! I like your idea of brushing the tops with buttermilk. (check out my recipe for Garlic, Chive, and Cheddar Biscuits– sounds similar to your ‘italian’ version 🙂

  5. […] Bake a batch of biscuits, like these Soft Butter Biscuits, or Light and Tender Buttermilk Biscuits. […]

  6. Viki Stevenson November 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm Reply

    Hi, I was looking for something to take to my elderly neighbors for supper (two hour notice – bless their hearts-I live alone and they have adopted me). I thought biscuits would be great but alas there was no shortening in the larder so I started surfing, found this recipe so thought I would try it. Well, the pastry cutter has been tossed to the back of my drawer and this will now be the only biscuit recipe I make- it was so easy to make and tasty too. Thank you so much.

    Viki Stevenson, Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

  7. makeithomemade November 17, 2013 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Thanks for your comment, Viki. How nice to have such special neighbors, and how nice that they have you to bake them homemade biscuits! Glad you enjoyed them!

  8. Kittie Moe February 1, 2014 at 12:08 pm Reply

    Dan…..I would think one should cut back on the oil when adding cheese, since cheese has a certain amount of oil in it.

  9. nativetexangirl February 5, 2014 at 1:21 pm Reply

    I made your biscuits this morning but I used melted coconut oil (instead of canola)and whole milk and no baking soda (instead of buttermilk). They were really good. Light and fluffy!

  10. Miriam D June 22, 2015 at 11:48 am Reply

    Thanks for this! Used soymilk + vinegar, and used whole wheat flour. They didn’t rise as much as I’d have liked (probably should have adjusted the baking powder or soda for WW flour) but these were still super fast and yummy. Thanks!

  11. unyquelikeme February 4, 2017 at 10:37 am Reply

    Thank you
    Thank you
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

