Grandma’s Soft Molasses Crinkles

P1020123How do I love these cookies? Let me count the ways! Last week I mentioned my favorite cookie recipe, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, but these have to be next in line. Here’s why:

1. This was one of my Grandma Laury’s recipes. I love making recipes that were written out in her own hand. I find it special that I can enjoy something that she took the time to write down and keep and make.

2. They have a slight crunch on the outside, but are soft and chewy on the inside.

3. The flavor is just delicious- a warm and spicy taste- the stars being the molasses and ginger.

4. I think these cookies are just really pretty,too. The balls bake into the perfect little circles with ‘crinkles’ and sugar on top.

I have a very hard time stopping at 2 or 3 (or 4 or 5, actually- but don’t tell!!)

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp.nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • Sugar (for coating the cookies)

 

Mix together the dry ingredients;
Add shortening-mix well.
Add egg and vanilla.
Add molasses.
P1020076
Chill for several hours or overnight;
P1020117
Form into small balls. Put some sugar in a small bowl. Roll the balls in sugar.
Place on cookie sheet (i get about 20 on a sheet)
Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.
P1020131
Take out of the oven and allow to set up for about a minute- then remove from the pan onto a wire rack.
I get around 40 cookies
Leave a Reply

