Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches with Sweet Mustard Sauce

P1020193I adore these sandwiches. Definitely in my Top 3! Ham and Cheese is a classic, but this sandwich brings it up a notch.

A buttery, sweet mustard sauce is drizzled all over the inside and on top (my favorite part!)- the more the better, in my opinion! Also included is ham from the deli, and two types of cheese. Once again, I use Homemade Sandwich Buns, which I recently mentioned in another post. I cannot emphasize enough what a difference this makes! I made these sandwiches for years, with store-bought buns, and though I still really enjoyed them, I couldn’t believe how much better they tasted when made with a good homemade sandwich bun. Once assembled, all of this is baked until it is hot, saucy, and gooey with cheese!

Serve these with a salad or a baked potato or sweet potato, and you have a quick, easy, delicious meal! Makes 8 (NOTE: Make the buns a little smaller- and make these more like a “slider” for parties!)

  • 8 Sandwich Buns (I recommend Homemade Sandwich Buns)
  • 1/2- 3/4lb. fresh deli ham, very thinly sliced.
  • 8 slices colby-jack cheese
  • 1 1 /2 cups mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 (generous) Tbs. prepared yellow mustard
  • 2 Tbs. finely minced onion
  • 1 (generous) Tbs. sugar

P1020175

Assemble the sandwiches: colby-jack cheese on the bottom, then the ham, then the mozzarella cheese.

Next, mix together the melted butter, mustard, onion, and sugar. Drizzle this over the open sandwiches.

P1020186

Replace bun tops. Drizzle the rest of the sauce over the tops of the buns.

Bake @ 375 for 10 minutes- until all the cheese is melted.

P1020192

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

