Taco Meat with DIY Seasoning

P1020219

Tacos are a favorite weeknight meal in our home. It’s a meal that everyone is happy about- even my 2- year-old. In my early years of cooking, I always bought a package of taco seasoning to season the meat for tacos. But for years now I just make my own. In fact, I think this was one of the first items I quit buying and replaced with homemade. I don’t remember the last time I bought a packet.

It’s so easy and fast. It’s healthier.(Many packaged seasonings contain MSG and other chemicals and preservatives. See ingredients here.) And it is less expensive than buying a packaged seasoning mix every time. Try it out!

*The amounts of the spices could be less or more depending on your family’s tastes. But this is a good place to start.

  • 1 – 1 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 3/4 c. water (if you prefer the meat to be “saucier”, increase to 1 cup)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin

P1020213

Brown the ground beef. Drain. Return to the pan and add the water and seasonings. Stir.

P1020217

Allow to simmer on low for 10 minutes-Most of the water will be absorbed.

Serve with your other taco toppings.

P1020221

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Taco Meat with DIY Seasoning

  1. Taco Dip | Make it Homemade August 3, 2013 at 9:56 am Reply

    […] Originally we made it using a packet of ready-made seasoning. But those packets no longer make it in my cart. I mean- if you really want the MSG, etc. version- go the packet route. But, I prefer something a little cleaner, not to mention cheaper. This do-your-own seasoning version tastes just as good as the original, using spices I always keep in my cabinets. (It’s also similar to my DIY taco meat seasoning) […]

  2. Kristi February 7, 2014 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Making this for the second time tonight. I added a bit of onion powder as well! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

