Baked Chicken and Cream

P1020708This chicken is AMAZINGLY Delicious!

I was introduced to this dish by my in-laws many years ago when Tim and I were first dating. I fell in love with it.

Generally it was served on special occasions- like birthdays. I asked for the recipe, and began to make my own version for my side of the family- And my younger brother and sister also fell in love with it. Whenever I mention making it- their eyes close, mouths water, big smiles, and they let out an “Ohhhhh- that stuff is soooo good!”

Now, let me tell you- This chicken is very creamy. This chicken is very dreamy. This chicken is rich. This chicken will probably add a pound or two to your weight. But, my goodness, is it ever good. And that is the reason this is perfect for special occasions when you want something extra-special.

Not only is the chicken awesome, but the cream turns out thick and mixes with the wheat germ on top, and creates a delicious sauce. You can spoon all this over something like Baked Brown Rice or a Baked potato.

  • 2- 3 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts ( 4-5 breasts) (*NOTE: you could also use boneless, skinless tenderloins- just decrease the baking time to 30-35 minutes)
  • 1 cup. flour
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 2- 2 1/2 cups whipping cream

Coating

  • 2 Tbs. butter, melted
  • 1 cup wheat germ (this mimics bread crumbs- but very good for you!)

Prepare a shallow bowl or pan with the flour and spices.

Melt the butter and pour that into another shallow bowl or pan

P1020697

Rinse the chicken and cut the breasts into 2 or 3 long strips

P1020698

Now coat a piece with flour

P1020699

Dip the coated piece into the butter mixture

P1020701

Place all of these in a lightly- greased baking dish (at least a 9×13 size)

P1020705

When you have coated all the chicken with the flour and butter, measure out the whipping cream and pour all of it over the chicken. (this is the really good stuff!!)

Bake this, uncovered, for 45-50 minutes at 375. (Be sure the chicken tests done)

Sprinkle with a little salt

P1020707

Melt 2 Tbs  butter and mix with the wheat germ. Sprinkle all of this over the chicken and bake for about 8 more minutes.

P1020708

The chicken is now done!

P1020711

I serve this over Baked Brown Rice and Carrots on the side.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Baked Chicken and Cream

  1. Three Cedars Irish Dexters March 14, 2013 at 8:34 am Reply

    Sounds wonderful! I’m gonna try this one. Thanks for sharing!

    • makeithomemade March 14, 2013 at 11:25 am Reply

      Awesome! I hope you like it!

      • Three Cedars Irish Dexters March 15, 2013 at 1:17 pm

        I did it! It was amazing!!! I did do one thing differently. I put the spices in the melted butter. Hubs suggested another twist, that we might try next time… adding brown mustard. Thanks, again!

      • makeithomemade March 15, 2013 at 1:33 pm

        Wow, you did that fast! 🙂 I love mustard in dishes! (have some in my menu for this coming week) How would you add it?

      • Three Cedars Irish Dexters March 15, 2013 at 2:24 pm

        Mix with the butter. I find that mustard tends to be overpowering if you try it as a layer in prep. Combined with the butter and seasonings, you should be able to enjoy the mild taste along with the spices.

      • makeithomemade March 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

        good tips- thanks!

      • makeithomemade March 15, 2013 at 1:35 pm

        By the way, do you have a blog? The address that shows up with your name brings up an unused blog. I wanted to check it out 🙂 I see you have Dexters? I’ve been seeing that name pop up everywhere recently!

Leave a Reply

