Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream (No eggs)

P1020687Confession: Ice cream is my downfall. I love, love, love it. My favorite way to end the day is to sit down on the sofa, cuddled in a blanket and a big bowl of ice cream in hand. I blame my father for this habit as he modeled this very routine to us children in our growing up years, night after night, bowl after bowl. And now, I (and my younger brother, too) are ice cream addicts- no small bowl will do- it must be large- a freezer with no ice cream in it is a very sad sight, indeed.

So- now that you now I am an ice cream addict, let’s move on and get to the point of this post!

I didn’t want to look at the ingredients of ice cream at the store. I just preferred to not KNOW what junk was in my ice cream. But, I did it anyway- and wasn’t really surprised when i saw the long list of weird and un-pronounceable ingredients. **sigh**.

So, I have begun to experiment with some different homemade ice cream recipes. I want to find several “go-to” recipes that I can use on a regular basis. And really- if the thought of homemade ice cream seems too involved, try to scratch that thought. It really is easy and does not take much time. All you have to do it mix up the ingredients, pour it in the ice cream maker’s canister. Then pour in ice and rock salt around it, plug it in, and the machine does the rest of the work. Your prep time for this recipe is 10 minutes maybe?

Also, this recipe does not have a custard base. I do want to try some of those in the near future, but this one is simply, cream, milk, sugar, cocoa. So, no cooking is involved, no tempering eggs. It’s quick, creamy, and delicious! You can clearly taste the creamy base. I also have not had a problem with this recipe becoming rock-hard in the freezer. Some homemade ice creams will do that. But this one has remained soft enough to scoop right out. The flavor reminds me a little bit of the taste of a Wendy’s frosty- in that it is not a real deep chocolate, but a lighter chocolate taste. We have loved it! And, of course, I have eaten more than I should! Don’t be like me!

NOTE*- if you have a Sams Club or similar store in your area, that is a great place to buy Whipping Cream and Half and Half- much cheaper than a grocery store!

  • 3 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups half and half
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • pinch of salt
Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk it together.  (there will probably be some specks of cocoa that don’t seem to dissolve. But not worry about those because they will dissolved in the churning process)
Now pour the mixture into the ice cream maker’s canister.
Churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.
When the churning is completed, freeze in the freezer. (I think this ice cream actually tastes better when it has had the chance to completely freeze and sit for a few hours or overnight!)
This makes a large amount of ice cream…at least 8 servings- if not more
P1020690
Enjoy!!!
Tagged: , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream (No eggs)

  1. Vicki Warner March 28, 2013 at 7:01 pm Reply

    We are ice cream lovers as well 🙂 I have had 6 cartons in our freezer at one time! This recipe sounds very good. Unfortunately we don’t have an ice cream maker. Thankfully Turkey Hill has an “all natural selection” of ice creams that are 100% all natural. They recently added a Salted Caramel, Mint Chocolate Chip, half Butter Pecan – half Chocolate, and Coffee to the four they already had. I buy up when they are on sale, and if I have a coupon that is better yet! You may want to check them out. I don’t know what the calorie or cost difference would be.

    • makeithomemade March 28, 2013 at 7:09 pm Reply

      Yum-I’ll have to check that out. Where do you buy it? As far as the calorie count- I’m sure none of it is too low in calories- but oh well!! 🙂

  2. […] I’ve finally found a recipe for ice cream that doesn’t use eggs. You can see the recipe here.  This is not a cheap recipe, but we only have ice cream on birthdays so we don’t mind […]

  3. […] Vanilla Ice Cream is similar to the recipe for my Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream. However, I opted to use a higher ratio of heavy cream, and obviously a heavy dose of […]

  4. Angela O'Brien May 20, 2013 at 11:06 pm Reply

    Kari, I made this tonight, and it’s delicious! Thanks for a great recipe–I can always trust a Laury to know their ice cream! Haha!

    • makeithomemade May 20, 2013 at 11:08 pm Reply

      HaHa! Yes, it’s true. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!!

  5. melody June 17, 2013 at 8:13 am Reply

    dear this is gr8……but what is half n half……in india , its not availablei in india………..secondly i dont have ice cream maker………..can we make it in freezer………

    • makeithomemade June 17, 2013 at 9:58 am Reply

      “Half and half” is just half milk and half cream. 🙂 I have never tried making homemade ice cream without an ice cream maker, so I’m not sure about other options there!

  6. HeatherMcD July 4, 2013 at 7:49 am Reply

    Looks yummy! I have been searching for a no-eggs chocolate ice cream and this looks perfect! One question: what size of ice cream maker do you use? Mine is just a little 1-quart (which is perfect for just the 2 of us), so I feel like I need to adjust the proportions here, but I don’t know by how much! Thanks!

  7. makeithomemade July 4, 2013 at 8:15 am Reply

    Heather- I am pretty sure mine is a 4qt. I was looking all over the ice cream maker to find the size- but can’t find it. But I’m pretty sure it’s 4qt. I’m thinking it it were me- to make a batch for a 1qt. size- I would probably just halve the recipe and then use as much as would fit in the ice cream maker. OR…we could try to reduce the amounts by about 75%…so, that would be…
    3/4 c. whipping cream
    1/2 c. half and half
    1/2 cup whole milk
    1/4 cup water
    1/2 c. sugar
    1/4 c. cocoa
    1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
    pinch of salt

    of course- I’ve never actually tried it with those amounts, above- so I can’t guarantee that it will turn out exactly the same- but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work.

    Hope it turns out great 🙂

    • HeatherMcD July 4, 2013 at 8:21 am Reply

      Thanks so much!

  8. Monna Woodward Barber July 7, 2013 at 3:04 am Reply

    I think this is the best chocolate ice cream ever!!!

  9. Holly September 1, 2013 at 7:00 pm Reply

    Wonderful recipe! I can not have chocolate, so we substituted carob powder and it turned out great!

  10. […] job. I’ve finally found a recipe for ice cream that doesn’t use eggs. You can see the recipe here.  This is not a cheap recipe, but we only have ice cream on birthdays so we don’t mind […]

  11. Ernesto October 4, 2014 at 8:35 am Reply

    Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice methods and we are looking to swap methods with
    other folks, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  12. […] Homemade chocolate ice cream (no eggs) | make it homemade […]

  13. […] Homemade chocolate ice cream (no eggs) | make it homemade […]

  14. margaret October 26, 2015 at 5:38 pm Reply

    It sounds good to make. I would so love to try it!!!!!! 🙂

  15. Nadia May 22, 2017 at 8:47 pm Reply

    Can I use honey instead of sugar?

Leave a Reply

