Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins

P1040526When I was growing up, my mom always made blueberry muffins on my birthday. I can remember waking up those mornings, and I could smell the sweet smell of blueberries from my bed. What a great start to a morning!

Well, it’s not my birthday, but it is summer and it is blueberry season around here. I have a bunch of blueberries in my refrigerator- little hands (and big hands) can frequently be seen sneaking a handful!

But I have plans for those P1040542blueberries. And this was one of them…my favorite Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins- moist, lightly sweet, and bursting with blueberries!

I’ve tried other similar recipes, but always come back to this one I’ve been making for years now.

It’s a good’un!

PRINTABLE RECIPE

  • 1 1/2 cups white-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (or oil)
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries, rinsed. (frozen works, too)
  • Cinnamon Sugar for sprinkling on top- Optional

Mix together the dry ingredients in a small bowl.

In a separate mixing bowl, add the eggs and buttermilk. Mix well. Add in the applesauce and honey and gently stir mix until well-combined. Now you can add the dry ingredients and gently stir just until the batter is well-blended. Don’t over-mix. Carefully add the blueberry and fold into the batter. (this just means to turn the batter over the blueberries in order to mix them in- instead of stirring, which will break more berries.)

For an optional topping, you can combine 1 Tbs. sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon. Sprinkle this mixture over the tops of the muffins. (you will have some left over).

Fill greased muffin tins 3/4 full with batter.

P1040518

Bake at 350 (375 is you have a shiny pan) for 20- 25 minutes. (mine took 20 minutes). Check for doneness with a small knife or toothpick. If it comes out clean- the muffins are done.

P1040525

Remove from the oven and allow to set for a few minutes before removing from the muffin tin to a wire rack.

 Yield: 16-18 muffins

P1040530

P1040526

P1040542

PRINTABLE RECIPE

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins

  1. […] was our dinner last Friday night along with yummy Blueberry Muffins. (I’ve mentioned before how much better I like breakfast for dinner rather than at […]

  2. […] already noticed, I make muffins often for breakfast around here. Pumpkin, Bran, Oatmeal, Blueberry- there’s so many options! In fact, I’ve also already shared another banana muffin […]

Leave a Reply

