‘Fall-Off-The-Bone-Tender’ Pork Spare Ribs with Homemade BBQ Sauce (Slow Cooker)

P1040583So far my very favorite cut of meat from the hog we raised has been the Spare Ribs! They are lip-smackin’ good!

This recipe is so easy and requires minimal prep. But the result is tender, fall-off-the-bone ribs, coated in a homemade sweet barbecue sauce!

Tim had to work late when I made these for dinner a few nights ago. So, I needed to save enough for him to eat later. I must admit, I was really having to restrain myself from just eating what I was saving for him!  But I was a good wife and didn’t. 🙂 (though, I have to confess, I did take a little!!)

YUM!!

PRINTABLE RECIPE

  • 2-3 lbs pork spare ribs (2 racks)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Chili Powder

I cut my rib racks in half, so that they would fit a little better in the crock pot. It’s ok if the ribs overlap a bit- and they will probably not all lay flat- just do the best you can to give everything its own space.

Sprinkle the ribs with salt and pepper. Then, just lightly sprinkle with paprika and chili powder.

Add about 1/2 cup of water around the ribs, to help keep things moist.

Cook on high for 4-5 hours.

About 45 minutes before the ribs are done, add the barbecue sauce.

Homemade Sweet BBQ Sauce

  • 1/3 c. molasses
  • 3/4 c. ketchup (preferably an organic variety)
  • 3 Tbs. Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Small pinch cloves

Mix all of the ingredients together in a small bowl. Pour all of it over the ribs. Allow the ribs to cook for 45 minutes.

Remove from the crock pot to a large plate and serve ’em up!

PRINTABLE RECIPE

P1040582

P1040581

P1040583

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “‘Fall-Off-The-Bone-Tender’ Pork Spare Ribs with Homemade BBQ Sauce (Slow Cooker)

  1. […] Fall-of-the-bone Tender Pork Spare Ribs […]

Leave a Reply

