Fresh Peach Cobbler

P1040897Fresh Peaches from the orchard have to be one of my favorite parts of summer. And though I really love a red ripe strawberry, a sweet and juicy cantaloupe, or a crunchy crispy apple, I think a perfectly ripe peach that just drips with its sweet juice when I slice it, just might win as my very favorite fruit. I love to eat tpeaches over vanilla ice cream, topping my cereal, in a pie, or my favorite- peach cobbler!

I’m a big cobbler lover anyway. I was just telling my hubby how cobblers remind me of after-church potlucks that we used to have when I was a little girl in the small fellowship hall of our church. It was always filled with many people, loud from laughter and talking, and the tables were brimming with all sorts of wonderful things to eat. Of course the dessert table was my favorite- and I could always find many delicious cobblers to choose from among the goodies. Sweet memories.

This peach cobbler is purely peaches. What I mean is, peaches are the main flavor. I don’t add extra spices or flavorings to compete with the fruit. It just doesn’t need it! Keep it simple.

The topping is exactly how I like my cobbler topping to turn out. It’s kinda crispy on top, but soft underneath- almost biscuit-like in texture, but not as dry.

Peach cobbler is truly one of those simple joys of summer. Why not surprise your family and make one to enjoy after dinner one night. Go sit on the porch and enjoy the summer warmth while you soak in the sweetness of a few quiet moments with the ones you love and a delicious fresh peach cobbler!

PRINTABLE RECIPE

Filling:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 heaping Tbs. all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups fresh peaches, peeled and sliced (8-10 medium/large peaches

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 1/3 cup cold butter
  • 1 egg, beaten

Peel and Slice the peaches. In a medium-large bowl, mix together the flour and sugar. Add the peaches. Mix the peaches together with the sugar, using your hands to toss the peaches over and over until well-coated.

P1040885

Add the peaches to a greased 11×7 baking dish.

For the topping:

In a large bowl, mix together the sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut the butter into chunks and add to the dry ingredients. Using a pastry blender, cut in the butter until the mixture resembles fine crumbs.

P1040886

In a small bowl, beat the egg. Add this to the flour mixture.

Mix with a fork until the egg has coated everything. If you are like me, at first you will think there is not enough egg. But, just keep mixing it up until it all comes together. You should end up with a “crumbly” mixture.

P1040887

Crumble the topping over the peaches.

Bake at 375 for 40 minutes. The top should be golden-brown and the peaches should be bubbly. (If the center happens to still looks very gooey- bake for a few additional minutes.)

P1040892

P1040893

Allow the cobbler to cool on a wire rack. Serve when it’s still a little warm, or when it is completely cool along with some vanilla ice cream!

P1040894

P1040898

PRINTABLE RECIPE

adapted from Colorado Peach Cobbler

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

