How to Cut Butternut Squash

P1050269

I remember the first time I wanted to prepare butternut squash. I stood looking at that oddly shaped thing on my counter and wondered how in the world I was going to get to the good stuff inside.

I don’t remember exactly how I ended up cutting it that time, but through trial and error I have learned an easy method that works well for me.

Here’s what you do:

You need a cutting board and a good,large, sharp knife.

Rinse off the squash.

Place on a cutting board and chop off both ends.

P1050261

Then, using a vegetable peeler, peel off the skin.

Yes, the skin is tough, but once you get it going, it is pretty easy to peel. You do need to apply some pressure as you swipe the peeler across the squash- more than you would use to peel a potato!

P1050263

Once it is peeled, slice the entire squash in two- length wise. I find this to be the hardest part. (Sometimes it takes me a couple whacks onto the cutting board to get the knife through.)

P1050264

Scoop out the seeds. I like to use a grapefruit spoon because it has a serrated end, and that is helpful.

P1050265

P1050267

Now place the squash open side down, and slice into strips.

P1050268

Slice the strips into chunks.

P1050269

Now you can enjoy these fresh chunks of butternut squash in your favorite dishes.

Here’s one I like a lot:

Sweet and Spicy Butternut Squash and Apples

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “How to Cut Butternut Squash

  1. ninjasinstitches October 31, 2013 at 4:12 pm Reply

    We had similiar first experienes with Squash… 😉 Thanks for the tips!

  2. Susan October 31, 2013 at 4:15 pm Reply

    Thanks Kari. I’ve had one of these ( a gift) on my counter for several days. I was not sure what type of squash it was. Now I do, and am going to have it with meatloaf for dinner tonight. Love your blog!!

    • makeithomemade October 31, 2013 at 4:46 pm Reply

      Susan- should taste great with meatloaf! 🙂

Leave a Reply

