Quick and Easy Kettle Corn

P1050454Here is a recipe I just have to share with you. It’s the perfect snack.

I still make popcorn the stove-top way. A big bag of popcorn kernels is pretty cheap- much cheaper than microwave popcorn- not to mention much better for you! So, when a friend of mine (thanks, Angela!) recently shared this recipe for Kettle Corn, it grabbed my interest and I knew it was something I wanted to try.

I have made it so many times since then!

In less than 10 minutes, you can have this delicious sweet and salty snack. The sugar creates this coating- kinda like a glaze- over the popcorn, that quickly dries once the popcorn is done popping. It gives it a lovely, lightly sweet taste- not nearly as sweet as a caramel corn. Sprinkle it with sea salt to taste- and oh, yum- It is so, so good! It just couldn’t be easier.

See the original recipe hereThe lady who posted this recipe, Erin Huffstetler, has very clear instructions- which I pretty much follow as written. But, I went ahead and included my own instructions/ingredient list, too.

  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup popcorn kernels
  • Sea salt

Pour the oil into a pot. Toss in 3 popcorn kernels. Cover the pot and turn heat to medium/medium-high. Wait for the kernels to pop. Once they pop, remove the pot from the heat pour in the sugar. Give it a quick stir and then pour in the rest of the popcorn kernels. Cover and return to the heat.  Wait for the kernels to start popping. When you hear the popping begin-lift the pot and shake. Return to the heat. Repeat this process until the popping is done and all (or most) of the kernels have popped. You will want to be careful no keep shaking frequently so that the kernels and sugar do not burn.

When the popping has stopped, pour all of the popcorn into a large bowl.

The sugar coating will be very hot- so be very careful. I just use a wooden spoon to stir the popcorn around a little bit.

Now- just let it sit for about 3 minutes. At this point, the sugar will have hardened and created a really awesome glaze to the popcorn.

Sprinkle with sea salt!

That’s it!

Let the munching begin!

(NOTE: I have used my mom’s popcorn maker- like this one– and it worked really well- allowing you to crank and keep the popcorn moving, so you don’t have to do all the “lift and shake” to the pot. But, since I don’t have one of my own- I usually make it like the method described above. Either way works great!)

P1050457

P1050455

P1050454

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Kettle Corn

  1. Angela O'Brien January 21, 2014 at 7:50 am Reply

    I don’t know if that was a shout out to me or not, but we love, love this recipe, so I’m glad it made it here!. What kind of oil do you use? I love the flavor coconut oil lends!

  2. makeithomemade January 21, 2014 at 8:26 am Reply

    Yes, Angela! I’m soo glad you shared the recipe because I love it, too- and always eat too much of it! For oil- I first off used grapeseed oil. But since then I have read some things that say that grapeseed oil is not actually as good for cooking with heat as it claims to be. (sigh) I find the road to cooking with real foods and the learning curve to be one step forward and two steps back sometimes as you think you know what is good, only to find out later that you don’t! I’ll have to try it with the coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

