Made-from-Scratch Fudge Brownies (boxed mix copycat)

P1050531I miss boxed brownie mixes. I admit it.

I really do love eating and preparing real foods, and I almost never even have the desire to go back to the foods I used to prepare, but….I do miss those boxed brownie mixes. Maybe it’s just me. But, usually,I am just not overly thrilled with homemade brownies- they’re missing something.

P1050539My ol’ stand-by brownie is this one, A Good Brownie, and I do like it. It’s good. However, it still doesn’t seem to quite match up to the texture and taste of those packaged mixes.

So, being a little disappointed, I just didn’t make brownies very often. But, I was re-inspired to try again to recreate those mixes when my husband was dreaming of hot, fudgey brownies the other evening. My kids chimed in, too….”Oh, yes! Brownies!!”  You see- these are important matters to chocolate lovers. I needed to come up with a brownie that was just as tasty as a boxed mix brownie.

And I think this recipe just might be it!!  These are soft and moist- fudgey, but not too dense. They are the perfect texture, and even get that kinda flaky top. 

Try ’em out and see if you agree!

PRINTABLE RECIPE

  • 2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1/2 c. lard* (this is the real stuff…see note below ingredients)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 Tbs. pure vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c. milk chocolate chips

**I think the lard is one of the key ingredients here. Lard gives baked goods a really great texture. Check with local farmers to see if they can give you some lard that you can render and store in your refrigerator. The “lard” in the grocery store is processed and fake. Don’t use it

Add the sugar to a large mixing bowl. Add the lard and beat until well combined. Melt the butter in a saucepan and then add to the sugar. Mix this together.

Pour in the vanilla. Add the eggs. Mix.

Next, add the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Mix just until it is all combined. Don’t over-do it.

Pour in the chocolate chips and give a quick stir. (I do think it’s worth it to use both kids of chocolate chips. The combination balances the flavor out nicely)

Grease your 9×13 baking dish (I used a glass dish) with a light skimming of lard or you can use butter.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Check for done-ness by inserting a small knife in several places.If it comes out just slightly gooey- they are done. If nothing comes out on the knife, they are probably over-cooked. If the knife comes out pretty wet or with a lot of batter on it- cook for another 1 or 2 minutes and then test again.

Remove from oven- place pan on a wire rack. Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting in. I prefer to give them a little longer to cool down- more like 20 minutes, but sometimes it’s hard to wait!

P1050534

P1050539

P1050541

PRINTABLE RECIPE

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Made-from-Scratch Fudge Brownies (boxed mix copycat)

  1. Angela O'Brien January 20, 2014 at 9:09 pm Reply

    Kari, you and I think alike! I miss my boxed brownies, too, so I am so happy to see this recipe. Ufortunately, I don’t have any lard. I am thinking of using palm shortening. I know it’s not the same, but maybe???

  2. makeithomemade January 20, 2014 at 9:22 pm Reply

    Angela- I’d love to hear how the palm shortening works! I’ve never used it.
    If you are interested in lard, I am pretty sure Aurburnlea farms sells it that you can render- which is easy. I am loving cooking/baking with ours.

  3. Angela O'Brien January 21, 2014 at 7:26 pm Reply

    Ok Kari, these are very good! It doesn’t taste exactly like a box mix, but that is fine with me! I used the palm shortening and also cacao since I am out of cocoa (less processed, same basic flavor). Thanks for another great recipe!

Leave a comment