Fresh Ham Steaks in the Crock Pot

P1050413When we had our pig butchered, I was introduced to many cuts of meat that I was not accustomed to using- cuts that you don’t see in the normal grocery store. But more than that- I also found out that cuts like “ham steaks” and even a whole ham is much, much different when it is fresh and uncured, like the ham I used to buy at the grocery store.

Those hams have been processed and treated with nitrates and preservatives, which greatly affects their taste and appearance.

My fresh, uncured whole ‘ham’ from our hog, had the texture and taste more like a roast- Definitely not what we are used to eating on a ham biscuit, along with eggs, or on the platter for Easter dinner. The ham steaks were the same way.

This was going to take some getting used to. I looked for some recipes for the ham steaks, but nothing looked that great to me. From what I read, though, I did gather that fresh ham steaks have a tendency to be a little tough and also dry.

So, I decided to just start experimenting until something worked. And….I finally figured out the perfect recipe. In fact, this has become a much enjoyed and popular dish at our house! It is moist, tender, and tastes great.

So, in case you were wondering, too, here’s how to prepare fresh ham steaks! (I think the recipe would work equally as well with pork chops!)

PRINTABLE RECIPE

  • 2 ham steaks
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 6 Tbs. flour
  • 2 cups chicken stock- preferably homemade
  • 1 tsp.  sea salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 1 Tbs. chives- fresh or dried- chopped
  • 1- 2 Tbs. fresh parsley (or dried)- chopped
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pkg. Mushrooms-roughly chopped. I prefer using baby portabella

You will want to start with 2 fresh, ham steaks.

P1050363

 

This is what a fresh, uncured ham steak looks like

You can set these to the side for now.

In a large saute pan- melt the butter. Once melted, add the flour and stir together. Add the chicken stock, salt and pepper. Stir with a whisk, to help smooth out the lumps, until the mixture is nice and thick.

P1050359

Now you can add the chives, parsley, minced garlic cloves, and chopped mushrooms.

Stir it all together.

P1050360

Place one of the ham steaks into the crock pot and pour half of the “gravy” over it.

Add the next ham steak and pour in the rest of the sauce.

Now all you need to do it turn the crock pot on and let it cook!

Allow to cook for at least 4 hours on high. Or, use the lower setting and cook longer.

When it is time to serve, the meat will be tender and will probably fall apart into large chunks when you take it out of the crock pot. Arrange it all on a platter and spoon out the extra sauce and coat the meat. Or, if you prefer, you can serve all the extra gravy on the side. Or do both!

P1050413

P1050371

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “Fresh Ham Steaks in the Crock Pot

  1. Sandy July 30, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

    What other veggie can i use instead of mushrooms?

  2. makeithomemade July 31, 2014 at 12:20 pm Reply

    Well, I have never tried a different vegetable in this particular recipe. However, I think l carrots would work well, or even large chunks of potatoes- peeled or unpeeled. I have used both of these in the crock pot when making a beef roast.

  3. Kristan August 13, 2014 at 11:42 am Reply

    Thank you so much for posting this! We just recently had our hogs butchered in July and I am overwhelmed with how to prepare these new, and uncured, cuts of meat just as you described. Particularly the ham steaks.. I had just as much trouble as you trying to find a decent way to cook them. Can’t wait to try your recipe!

  4. makeithomemade August 13, 2014 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Kristan- glad I wasn’t the only one! 🙂 Enjoy all that fresh pork you worked so hard on, and I hope you enjoy the recipe!

  5. HK Jaye September 21, 2014 at 11:44 am Reply

    I have also made this with beans instead of the mushrooms…white, black, navy, kidney. Occasionally, I add corn, too, near the end of the crock pot cooking…makes a very hearty meal.

  6. Diane Flood January 23, 2015 at 10:23 am Reply

    Glad to see how to cook butchered pig. I am new to freshly cut meats and have no idea how to cook and at what temp the ham or parts should be cooked at. Please put more ideas on cooking these parts of pig.

    • Cathy Peary November 20, 2021 at 3:04 pm Reply

      I totally agree

  7. Emily March 14, 2015 at 10:47 am Reply

    It’s in the crock pot right now! We bought all of our pig uncured this time, and if you have any recipes for fresh bacon, let me know!

  8. Diane September 16, 2015 at 7:25 pm Reply

    This was a great recipe I added carrots n potatoes and doubled the portion I will make this again n share the recipe

  9. Nancy January 2, 2016 at 1:21 pm Reply

    Just found this recipie and so glad. I didn’t even think of going to Pinterest. So excited to taste it for supper tonite. I love the idea of adding corn and beans!

  10. Carolyn February 5, 2016 at 3:19 pm Reply

    thanks – I have an uncured pig in my freezer as well and am working my way through recipes to find what works!

    • Brooke June 2, 2022 at 3:51 pm Reply

      Hi! I’ve been scouring sites looking for recipes just like THIS!! THANK YOU! Any chance you’ve tried it in and instant pot!?

  11. Sarah April 27, 2016 at 10:41 am Reply

    Thank you for posting! We just got our pig butchered and I was standing in front of the freezer going “what in the ____ do I do with this?!”

  12. Joni November 13, 2016 at 2:25 pm Reply

    Thank you! I as you have never seen “pork” processed like this so glad you shared this! JW

  13. Gail November 26, 2016 at 9:41 am Reply

    I have been trying to figure out what to do with our fresh ham steaks. This recipe was far the best we’ve tried! I made it exactly following the recipe except I cooked it on low,for about six hours as my crockpot tends to cook hot. We really enjoyed it – thanks so much for posting!

  14. Laura December 9, 2016 at 12:52 pm Reply

    Thank our for this! It sounds great and I appreciate the picture. I was given some meat from a friend and had no idea why to do with it or if I was even looking up the right thing. Thanks so much!

  15. Stephanie July 13, 2017 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Does uncured mean they aren’t smoked? My ham steaks came smoked.

    • makeithomemade July 13, 2017 at 10:03 pm Reply

      Yes, not smoked, not cured, nothing added in any way. Here’s a description from online: “Uncured ham is also called fresh ham. It’s the same cut as cured, but not embellished with any of the brine and smoke or other flavorings the more common city hams and gourmet country hams. It even has a light pink or grey color, as you would expect in uncooked meat.” (source)

  16. Lori Duthler October 8, 2017 at 5:29 pm Reply

    Made this for my family today, and we all loved it! Thanks for the great idea to use my ham steaks!

    • Lori October 8, 2017 at 5:30 pm Reply

      Made this for my family today, and we all loved it! Thanks for the great idea to use my ham steaks!

  17. Patrick Stammeyer October 16, 2017 at 9:18 pm Reply

    Hello my cousin who raises the pigs always takes them to a small country locker and we get our ham cured . About a year ago he called and offered me a deal on a pig that was so cheap I could not refuse Evan though it was between pigs and steers with a full freezer the catch was the critter had a broken back leg so the ham was uncured and sliced to see if the meat had any blood in it witch it did not. I was faced with fresh ham steak I had never tried before.it was not tenderized either. Yours was the first recipe I found and I have been making it for my family on a regular basis ever since the kids Evan ask for it and the last pig we got half the ham steaks uncured on purpose. We love the gravy over mashed potatoes and fresh Iowa sweet corn thank you for a great recipe.

  18. Kelly January 21, 2018 at 6:50 pm Reply

    We had company last night and I made this for dinner. It was delicious and easy, everyone loved it. A keeper for sure!

  19. Linda June 12, 2018 at 9:07 pm Reply

    I made this today except I cooked it ina Dutch oven at 350 degrees for 2 hours, I maybe should have gone a bit longer but it still very tasty. Only thing that I’d change was that it seemed a bit salty and I used homemade broth with no salt.

  20. Shannon hansen March 29, 2019 at 12:36 pm Reply

    Would you be able to tell me how thick your ham slices were? Mine are about 2 inches thick. I am wondering if I can cook on low for 6 hours or if they will need more time because of their size

  21. Modean Guntt December 5, 2020 at 2:27 pm Reply

    Thank for the recipe. I have struggled with this cut for the last 7 years. Nothing has been great – often ok – but never great. Thanks

  22. […] 8. Fresh Ham Steaks in the Crock Pot | Make it Homemade […]

  23. […] 1. Fresh Ham Steaks in the Crock Pot | Make it Homemade […]

Leave a comment